A non spook story for Col.

graveyard

Many South African farms have family graveyards.   The farm I spent much time visiting in the early nineties had one, very similar to the borrowed pic above and with much same sort of scenery.

I always carry a camera, albeit of the ‘mik and druk’ variety (point and press?).   I like to photograph people mostly, make memories,  and at the time had a good little camera that never let me down.

One memorable weekend, down on the farm, following a merry lunch where we had all indulged rather freely with the vino, a long walk was called for and we found ourselves up at the family graveyard.

In retrospect I recall that we were not being very respectful.   An unoccupied site within the small fenced off  area did seem to be.. erm, rising?   A definite hump in the ground.   My ex, son of the farm owner, made a thing of saying that clearly the graveyard was getting ready to receive his father.   We thought it funny and I took photographs of various people larking about amongst the headstones.

On having the film developed all my photographs of the weekend turned out beautifully.  Many happy snaps.   Except for the five or six taken at the graveyard.   They simply were not there.   No blank negs – nada – as though I had never taken them.   Photos taken before and after the graveyard interlude were perfect.

I don’t know if this is a spook story or not, but I gave the graveyard a wide berth thereafter!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A non spook story for Col.

  1. adinparadise says:

    That really is a very spooky story. 😯 No logical explanation at all.

  2. colonialist says:

    It piques the interest!
    On the usual elimination of explanations kick: Who did the developing? Were the negatives individually cut or in a strip? Who had access to the processed pics before you got them?

    • footsy2 says:

      The local chemist developed the pix. or more likely, sent them off to the lab. I delivered and collected and the negatives for all 36 exposures were present and correct. I checked.

      • colonialist says:

        Aha! That plot definitely thickens, then. One is left with the lame explanations that just during that batch you failed to click properly or the mechanism temporarily jammed. If the latter one is still left with why, just then?.

      • footsy2 says:

        I think I would have noticed if the mechanism had jammed. No click and no sound of film moving on. It’s a mystery 🙂

  3. Gunta says:

    Verrrrry interesting! Bet even col won’t ever know for sure.

  4. This is a good story for Halloween

  5. Ooh, creeepy story, Footsy! I’d give it a wide berth too!

Leave a Reply

