Michelle’s Weekly Pet Challenge – another elephant?

100_5300

I’m using Hope’s Challenge as an excuse to …. vent?    Vent is not quite the right word.   I am confused.

I painted Goran, above, who is a beloved pet, (not mine)  as an unexpected gift for his owners and a thank you of sorts, for a couple I am fond of and who have been helpful.

I posted the painting to them over ten days ago.   I know they received the parcel within three days of posting.

I haven’t had a word of acknowledgement.   Not a squeak.   I’m not looking for a thank you.   A nod would do.   (it would be great if they liked it 🙂 ).   And said so.   Or otherwise.  Anything!

Clearly, there will be no acknowledgement of receipt of the painting.   I sort of expected it, having noticed in the past  that expressing thanks or appreciation of any sort seems to be foreign to this couple.   I make them sound awful, but they are not.   They just seem to have this hangup.

I make allowances for their behaviour –  (their individual backgrounds are challenging to say the least).   I have decided that if they can ignore the gift, so can I.   I shall say nothing and  put it out of my mind.

Or at least try to.

But by doing that  won’t I be creating yet another Elephant in the Room?

Truth to tell, my life is currently invaded by whole herds of elephants.   Issues that should be addressed but for the sake of peace, are swept under the carpet.

I am confused, and not very comfortable, but doing my best to understand.

🙂   Seeya.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Michelle’s Weekly Pet Challenge – another elephant?

  1. adinparadise says:

    I can’t believe that anyone could be so rude and remiss. It’s a wonderful painting, footsy.
    Sorry about the elephant invasion. Maybe you should rant a bit more often. 🙂

  2. Gunta says:

    I tend to ask… making it sound more like I want to be sure that it has been delivered safe and sound. If possible! ?

    • footsy2 says:

      It’s certainly possible, and definitely an answer. I’ve just seem to have reached a point where I am weary of the modern generation and their attitudes and behaviour and simply can’t be bothered.

  3. colonialist says:

    When you think about it, that is a form of rudeness which invites rudeness back, but most people can’t bring themselves to respond in kind. Being ‘like that’ from sad backgrounds is no excuse.
    I would ask them bluntly if they have received it, because if so their acknowledgement seems to have gone astray., Then I’d tell them that if they don’t like it I would pay for the cost of it being returned. All very politely.

    • footsy2 says:

      I do of course agree and don’t understand their attitude. There is much I don’t understand about the current batch of forty somethings and their offspring. Are their lives such hell, and so self centred, that common courtesy, integrity etc. etc. just don’t feature? I am the one who is out of step :-).

  4. optie says:

    Footsy I agree with Col. You put time and effort into doing something wonderful for a couple that you clearly are fond of and they can’t be bothered to thank you – completely unacceptable! I would call them on it, if they don’t like or want the painting, fair enough they can return it to you but to fail to acknowledge it at all is just plain bad manners that I don’t think their backgrounds can excuse because I am assuming they are adults who should have picked up some idea of courtesy along the way.

    • footsy2 says:

      And I agree with you both but the effort of making an issue of it just isn’t worth it. Our generations ideas on manners and integrity are way out of date. And the scary thing is that it is our generation who raised these people. I sincerely hope I won’t be around to witness how their kids turn out.

  5. Arkenaten says:

    Maybe there is a legit reason for the silence?
    Ark, ever the peacemaker (lol…yeah right!) But you never know?
    Give them a call?

    That’s a smashing painting by the way. Looks like a boxer?
    I hope you are looking nicely after my painting by the way? 😉

  6. footsy2 says:

    I hope it looks like a boxer :-). I have family heading your way next month and will try and bully them into acting as courier ….. but don’t hold your breath.

  7. 68ghia says:

    The picture is cute.
    As for not saying thanks – personally, manners. That’s all it is.
    Making allowances, sure, elephants, inevitable.
    But in talking about the thing, you risk a complete break. Unless that’s what you want.
    Then again, they might not be aware of their lack in manners…
    People. Nothing’s ever simple with us!

  8. cocoaupnorth says:

    Beautiful painting Footsy, you’re certainly talented and would have been lovely to receive a thank you. You would bang your head against the wall here, most people just lack the courtesy of saying thank you and then when you ask if they received the gift, you’ll get a lukewarm thank you as if to say, ‘you shouldn’t have bothered’. That was a thoughtful and beautiful gift from your side whether they realize that or not.

  9. Now that really is rude of them Footsy. The painting is wonderful. I am sorry I missed this post. I will add it to the round up this week if it is ok?
    *hugs*

  10. footsy2 says:

    Well, it took three weeks but I did finally get a thank you :-). Glad I bit my tongue.

  11. Pingback: Michelle’s Weekly Pet Challenge; Round up and start of new week. | Hope* the happy hugger

  12. Glad I read through your comments to hear that they said thank you. It’s a lovely painting.

Leave a Reply

