Yesterday

Daughter and I set off in search of vino, tapas, groceries. And fun.

First port of call involved not tapas, but sushi. As it happened, the only Japanese restaurant in the village was hosting a small wedding.

We gate crashed.

100_5460

The bride and groom were somewhat perplexed to pose  for two complete strangers, but happy to oblige.    Are they not delightful?

100_5468

The sushi was good too.

100_5464-001

We then wandered off in search of further entertainment.  Sticking our noses into dozens of  watering holes.   Been there, done that.  Dull.

In desperation we found a Spanish bodigo with a charming outside courtyard.   We were the only customers.   We talked.  And talked.  And talked.  We laughed a lot.

I have promised to spend the next  months, how ever long it takes,  writing a family history for her.  Her grandparents, me, her father (my ex), our marriage that was,  and so on.  JD was three when we divorced.

I asked her if she really, really wants to know.   Yes, she says.   And I believe her.  I will do it, warts and all.

She took a photograph.   Of ME!   There are few photographs of me in recent years.   I am always behind the camera.   Mostly the quiet observer.   Here it is.   (This is brave of me – I seldom post personal pics – mostly because there aren’t any!)

100_5474-001

Happiness is a choice  and it takes effort.   I am blessed.

We didn’t forget the groceries.  Racing around the supermarket  in record time, giggling as we went.

‘Gather yea rosebuds whilst yea may?’

Seeya.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Yesterday

  1. colonialist says:

    Good to meetcha in image rather than words only! Must be something in the air. I have also hidden behind my meerkat until the recent selfie …
    I hope the bride and groom realised that one of the gatecrashers was a famous artist (well, going to be that way)!

  2. Arkenaten says:

    My artist! Hello, Footsy. What a lovely surprise!

  3. Pingback: I’ve seen that face before. Grace Jones. – For Footsy. Nite Nite | A Tale Unfolds

  4. Pussycat44 says:

    Howdy, Footsy-in-real-life! What a way to spend a day in sunny Spain.

  5. Sonel says:

    Great to meet a real wedding crasher! LOL! Pleased to meet you Footy. Lovely photo’s too!
    Sounds like you had a lovely and fun day. 😀

  6. optie says:

    Way to go – gatecrashing a wedding with sushi on the menu – now that’s style. Nice to see you in the flesh if you know what I mean 🙂

  7. Sounds like you had a great day, footsy. Lovely pic of you. 🙂

  8. st sahm says:

    No surprise you look artistic and chic as you write and paint. Love that you’re working on a family history for your daughter.

  9. Those Sushis do look yummy and I suppose with a plate full of that on the side, it becomes easier to retain ‘Happiness as a choice’, is it not. I don’t know why but reading your post, the following lines played in the mind.

    “Yesterday, all my troubles seemed so far away
    Now it looks as though they’re here to stay
    Oh, I believe in yesterday.”

    Shakti

    • footsy2 says:

      I’m sorry if it came across that way. Couldn’t be further from the truth. My daughter has a right to know where she come from. and I will do my best to tell her. But for myself, I never look backwards. It ain’t over ’til the fat lady sings 🙂

Leave a Reply

