NDE’s and O of BE’s

100_2496

Every so often I get the urge to post on belief.    This time it’s been brought on partly by catching up on Ark’s anti religious blogs, which I incidentally enjoy,  being anti organised religion myself, and a conversation I had with our old friend Herr Doktor  a week or so ago.

It’s no secret that I lean towards mysticism.  It so much more interesting than the other options available.   So when Herr Doktor described his very own Near Death Experience I was intrigued.

His experience was pretty standard.   He fell down a staircase, injuring himself badly, then experienced the tunnel of light – his was white and green,  (out of this world colours, indescribable).  He then arrived at a ‘platform’ where various people, his father for one, greeted him, asking what the ….. he was doing there, as it wasn’t his time.  The vibes, as he explained them, were ….. ‘heavenly’?   Pretty standard stuff.  He then went on to tell us that he had felt ‘chains’ pulling him back.   He resisted them to no avail then woke up in hospital with a broken back.

I asked him, as a medical professional,   if he had an explanation for  what had happened to him.   He simply shook his head and changed the subject.

In recent weeks my ‘home page’ has been posting excerpts from  a book on NDE’s, written by a doctor, and shortly to be published.   Pretty much same old same old.   One thing I noticed was that young children apparently also experience them   This is not necessarily a good thing, as these kids can get hooked on the memory and long to return.

Personally, I have had a single ‘Out-of-body’ experience.  A black out – I fainted, the only time ever.   I doubt very much if it was an NDE.   Pretoria on a hot and humid day – an embassy garden party.  I hadn’t eaten.    It could have been seriously embarrassing but I came to with the sensation of travelling, moving back into my body and I was euphoric.  Couldn’t have given a damn.  Followed by a serious headache. Easily explained.   Lack of oxygen to the brain might well do this.

Whatever happened to me, I am able to identify with people who have experienced NDE’s.  I have felt that indescribable joy.

So, I’ve been googling.   Euphoria plus fainting.  I got one hit.   Similar.  I am not alone, entirely :-).

I have also googled Distressing Near Death Experiences.   Apparently they do happen.   Something between 1 and 15% of these recalls are seriously bad news.

So,   I’ve thought about this as length.   Seems to me, which ever way you look at it – whether you believe in an afterlife or simply one big zero,  dying is a pretty wonderful experience.

To be on the safe side, be good folks :-).

This post is a personal debate with myself – if you have any thoughts on the subject, please do tell me.

Seeya.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to NDE’s and O of BE’s

  1. colonialist says:

    Various experts have expressed the view that a stage is reached with lack of oxygen etc where the same sort of hallucination is shared by all because of the areas of the brain affected, to explain these NDE experiences.
    Ones that are harder to explain are the OBEs where some people in a coma have been able to describe things later which would have been invisible from the bed.
    I am inclined to find the idea of a ‘life force’ or ‘spirit’ or ‘soul’ which goes beyond a lot of electricity dashing around in the brain entirely feasible and logical, whether or not there is any scientific proof. Scientists are as blinkered by their preconceptions as anyone else may be, however much they may argue that point..
    Oh, and I certainly don’t feel that it is an exclusively human thing. I think it is likely to exist in all living creatures.

  2. Pussycat44 says:

    I really don’t know what to believe. When my sister in law passed away she reached out with her arms and said: “Oh, what beautiful flowers” and that was that.

  3. Gunta says:

    I’m pretty much content with admitting that we have no way of knowing and leaving it at that. 🙂

  4. Arkenaten says:

    Hmmm…

    I had a near death experience when I found out that Al di Meola played the Cape Town Jazz festival and I missed him.
    Don’t mind me, I’ve had a day
    Did you ever watch that Matt Damon movie about NDE, Hereafter?

  5. footsy2 says:

    I hunted for months as I only subscribe to Netflix and they didn’t have it. Finally saw it a couple of weeks ago, courtesy of JD’s boyfriend. And enjoyed it very much. I keep a list of your favourite movies – they work for me. (Not so much your favourite music – 🙂 )

  6. I’d love to know the answer to what happens when we die, but have come to the conclusion that I would have to die first, so I’m not overly impatient. 🙂

    • Arkenaten says:

      Yeah, there’s always a damn catch, right?
      Mind you, I think we would all find it just a wee bit disconcerting should we hear someone say:
      “Pssst. Oi, cloth ears, it’s me, Auntie Edna”.
      “But you’re….you’re d..d..dead.”
      “Yeah, go figure…now listen…this is what you have to do…”
      “Hello? Aunt Edna?”
      ”Bugger…we keep losing power. I think God has Eskom too…”

Leave a Reply

