Sunday

Things to be grateful for.

I no longer own a gun.

If I did I would have blown my brains out. But not before shooting my laptop three times. I would have saved the 4th bullet for myself. (I have four bullets on the brain, must be Oscar).

I promised to write a family history for my daughter. The works. Grand parents, both sides, aunts, uncles, cousins, and me. As much as I know. I did it. It took days – and much sweat. This was some weeks ago.

She is now nagging for it. I look for it. Gone. Vanished into? Cyberspace, where ever the hell that is.

An hour later I find it. Filed under Guildford Housing. (?) What!!! I never had such a file (???)

I don’t think I have ever, ever, ever been so grateful in my entire life.

I have been presented with a memory stick, plus instructions. What? I printed the f**ker out. Daughter will receive her family history, printed on real paper and hand delivered.

And now, 1 large medicinal brandy to the wind, I am going to nap.

Seeya.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sunday

  1. Oh what a nightmare! Thank goodness for hubbys. Mine has saved me many times when I’ve lost something that took me hours to type out. Glad it all worked out, and well done. 🙂

  2. Pussycat44 says:

    I think I must also do some saving on a memory stick! I have a family tree that needs to be saved as it was also a lot of hard work and investigation. Glad TL found it for you and he was justly rewarded 😉

  3. Ruth2Day says:

    Nightmare stuff! but very glad you received it. Now you can sit and sip some sangria 🙂

  4. Ruth2Day says:

    that was supposed to say, very glad you retrieved it

  5. Arkenaten says:

    I back up all my files…on two flash drives.
    Save, save, save…..

    • footsy2 says:

      Yeah yeah. Brag brag….:-)

      • footsy2 says:

        *Thinks* What is a flash drive ?????

      • Arkenaten says:

        Not bragging, I promise. Empathizing. Been where were and worse!
        Some files lost forever. Ideas written down and even whole swathes for books lost forever in cyber ether.

        One sits looking at the screen with that Eeeek , wide-eyed look of horror on ones face you see in cartoons.
        Makes you physically sick because some of those ideas one can never recreate.

  6. Gunta says:

    You still crack me up, but losing something like that is no joke. If you ever tried to recreate it, it wouldn’t come out near as good.

  7. Sonel says:

    Whahahaha Footsy! Well, so glad it was all sorted out in the end. I never knew struggling like that could be so hilarious. Well done! 😆
    PS: You forgot the cricketbat. hahahaha

    • footsy2 says:

      Don’t have a cricket bat either, thank heavens. TL would probably have brained me with it. He finds the weird stuff I manage to achieve with the computer very baffling.

      • Sonel says:

        Or shoot you. LOL!

        Don’t worry. Same problem this side. Luckily I have 3 inhouse techs. hahahaha

  8. colonialist says:

    Well, think of it this way: it takes a special kind of genius to stash a family history in a file you never had.
    What on earth inspired TL to look in that innocuous and irrelevant file?

  9. d1nx says:

    Mwah dollypop.. You should have used that “old” typewriter.. at least one knows where to find the doccie! :). Love and hugs

Leave a Reply

