Catch up.

Suffolk Close 2

I think I mentioned that we had moved.   And that I now have a tiny patch of garden that is all mine.   And that I  spent weeks grovelling in the dirt, removing rubbish and uprooting stinging nettles, brambles and, the worst – some sort of weedy grass, whose roots go on for ever?

Well, here it is.   (top left).   I include a pic from over the fence, showing Mad Landlord’s larger patch.   This is just to give you an idea of what I was dealing with :-).

After the clean up, my first objective was to attract birds.   Coconuts, fat balls, scattered bread crumbs and seeds.   (Couldn’t do much else, no planting – winter has bitten in).

I’ve been muttering on about a new camera for at least a year.   I finally wandered into a local camera shop asking for advice.   Bottom line, I wandered out, somewhat dazed,  with much more than I had bargained for.   With what I am I told is a ‘bridge’ camera.   Something between the idiot proof camera I have carried for years, no bigger than a pack of cigarettes and something that will never fit into my handbag in a million years.   The weight of the Owner’s Manual is more than I want to handle let alone the camera itself.

The damned thing, with all it’s bits and pieces, is so heavy I can barely shift it.

So now I am a two camera person.   Old faithful in the pocket and one lugged around my neck, dragging me ever closer to the ground.   Between the computer and the camera, with all their bits a pieces next time I fly, something will have to go.   Clothes.

I’ve had a single experimental session with it.   (It’s been raining for weeks).

StarlingBlue TitGreat Tit

A Starling, who can polish off an entire coconut in one sitting, the Blue tit, and the Great tit, who seem to have taken up permanent residence in our little patch.

I am encouraged.  It is inevitable.   I am become a Twitcher.

Seeya.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Catch up.

  1. Arkenaten says:

    Brilliant! And super captures as well.
    Haven’t seen a photo of a European Starling in yonks.

    Heard news of the rain from one of the commentators on the BBC this afternoon prior to the Soccer match we watched.
    Sounds pretty rough.

  2. Pussycat44 says:

    That coconut is a brilliant idea. Do you buy them like that? Welcome to the world of small gardens 😉

  3. Fabulous bird pics, footsy! Any sort of manual gives me a headache as soon as I open it. 😦 Your little patch of garden looks quite charming. Less said the better about landlord’s rubbish tip. 😉

  4. Gunta says:

    Looks to me like you don’t need the manual. Lovely bird shots!

  5. Sonel says:

    Looks like the move did you well Footsy. Your garden looks very charming indeed. 😀
    Lovely photo’s of the birdies. They are so cute! Always fun to get a new camera and it makes the learning process way more interesting. I am in love with my FujiFilm and you certainly got your money’s worth. They do make great camera’s. 😀

    • footsy2 says:

      Yay for Fuji, although I have much to learn. Thank you for your input 🙂

      • Sonel says:

        The only way you will learn is by reading the manual, play around with the settings, go out and take a few shots of one subject with different settings, upload it to your computer and check out the differences. It’s lots of fun and believe me, you learn something new every day. I’ve had my Fuji for over 3 years now and I am still learning. 😀

        Have fun. 😀

  6. libraschild says:

    Catching up with you.brilliant photographer and painter.you have an eye for these things

Leave a Reply

