Hola

Meet Orville.

orville 7

The Skervil.   One of our new customers to the bird table.  Years ago, Senior Daughter was unable to pronounce ‘sq’ hence skervil.   He is very cautious.   It’s taken me weeks to get a pic.  Looks like a boy to me.

This is Clarissa.   I think.  There are two skervils who visit our patch . I think.  One seems smaller, but as they never arrive together, it is difficult to tell.

skerville 1

And then there is Hoppy.

dove 4

Hoppy is a  U.K. Wood Pigeon (if various bird books are to be believed).  In S.A. we called them Rock Pigeons and they were a pest.  I remember calling in the local huntin’, shootin’ gang to reduce our quota.  Our Hoppy has a gammy leg.   He too, is a new customer.   I never thought pigeons were particularly exciting until took the pic.   His colours entrance. (Enlarge the pic).   I like him – and the friend he now brings with him.

Seeya.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hola

  1. colonialist says:

    We, too, have pigeons at our feeder. Scratch squirrels. Substitute monkeys. And I’ll raise you a few ibis!

  2. Arkenaten says:

    I have never seen a ‘skervil’ since leaving England.
    Smashing photos.
    You seem to be getting the hang of your new camera.
    This is what my SA bird book calls a Rock Pigeon. We have a pair nesting under the eaves.

    https://attaleuntold.wordpress.com/2014/05/14/see-your-mangy-pigeon-and-raise-you-a-rock-pigeon-and-a-laughing-dove/

  3. I enlarged all our photos. All your creatures are gorgeous, and I can’t resist squirrels. They’re just so cute. 🙂

  4. Gunta says:

    That’s about the fattest pigeon I’ve ever seen. The gammy leg apparently doesn’t slow him down at the feeding trough. Skervils are very cute, but can be quite a nuisance around here. You’re definitely getting the hang of that camera!

    • footsy2 says:

      I’m not unhappy to have them. They do polish off most of the grub but because they ignore humans, think they encourage other birds to become braver. And yes, still have much to learn re camera, but am encouraged 🙂

  5. Ruth2Day says:

    we have some resident squirrels who enjoy chewing our phone lines 🙂

  6. libraschild says:

    at least hoppy is not a ferral pigeon. we have a family on teh window sill who are there to test me

Leave a Reply

