Sod’s law.

When I first returned to the UK (after fifty odd years) I frantically job hunted. It was a shock to discover I was past my sell-by-date. Degrees and experience meant zero. Fair enough.

I finally found myself a job. Managing a charity shop. And loved it. It didn’t pay much but was more fun than sliced bread. The volunteers, amazing people. Community Service, i.e. minor criminals – drink drive and so forth, serving their sentence. All had a story. The customers – from every walk of life. Some of them quite mad. The donations – many of which needed needed investigation – Gucci, Pucci, Valentino, serious designer gear. Collectibles – everything from vintage toys to solid, dated silver. Can you tell a real pearl from a fake? I can. Or a diamond from glass? Not so easy. A repro from the original? Almost every donation represented a challenge of some sort or other.

After seven years of this – I burnt out. The shop had been taken as far as it could go. So I headed for Spain.

Seven years on I am now more in UK than in Spain, although I do have options :-). Backwards and forwards, as I like.

I applied to volunteer for a newly opened Charity Shop. 15 minutes walk from where I live. It has taken 2 months for my application to be approved, despite the fact that they are clearly desperately in need of help. Fair enough. It is raising money for a hospice which do wonderful work. They have to be careful.

One shift of sorting clothes. (Good stuff – never been worn – all original lables still attached). 4 hours of serious hard labour – my back was killing me. Never the less, signed on for two shifts a week.

And now I have the f…ing lurgy! Sore throat, spaced out head, and a cough to skrik vir nix!!

No good deed goes unpunished :-).

I shall have to drag myself to the shop and grovel. No point in spreading it around. Hopefully they will let me back when I have recovered.

Meanwhile I have photographs (Can’t post without pix).

My garden.

robin

donations Never a dull moment, although seriously hard work. I

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sod’s law.

  1. Tish Farrell says:

    Wish you a speedy recovery, Footsy. That is a splendid photo.

  2. What an absolute pain! Get well soon and enjoy the new ‘job’. Gorgeous little robin redbreast. 🙂

  3. Gunta says:

    Hope you recover quickly to return to your good deeds!

  4. colonialist says:

    One obviously needs to suffer for the privilege of doing good works! What a total pain! – well, throat, anyway.
    Whenever I have visited UK, charity shops have had a strange effect of emptying my wallet and then creating horrific scenes at the airport, of dumping loads of lovely stuff to avoid excess baggage costs at ten times their value.

  5. libraschild says:

    you put a pearl in your mouth and it is gritty if it is real?
    not sure I’d do that with a ‘donation’ necklace though!
    get well soon…

  6. cocoaupnorth says:

    Hope you feel better soon Footsy. The Charity Shop job sounds alright with 2 shifts a week, enjoy.

  7. Marianne says:

    Love your robin photo! Hope you’re soon feeling much better.

  8. Sonel says:

    What a great shot of that beautiful Robin Footsy and sorry to hear you’re not feeling well. It’s the same here. Sounds like we’re just hanging in there. 😆

    Take care and get enough rest. I am sure they will take you back. No one can work when you’re sick. 😀 ♥

  9. Hi Footsy,
    So sorry to hear you are under the weather! Wishing you a swift recovery!

  10. Arkenaten says:

    Oi! What about a new post?

Leave a Reply

