O.T.T.

My mantra is ‘Less is more’. I truly believe this and know it works. Just that every now and then I forget.

Our garden in October, when we first moved in:

100_5634

100_5641

This was March ’15 – when it warmed up enough to venture outside.

024

And now ….

OTT1garden4garden3

garden2

And finally, the table clothe, which I coerced Senior Daughter into giving me:

gardenA

It makes a change of backdrop for Hoppy, who is always ready to pose:

Hoppy roses

I am, of course, my mother.   She loved her garden.  Her ‘good’ friend was editor of ‘Garden and Home’.   Asked Mum if she could feature her garden.  My mother was overjoyed.   Finally published with the header “How not to garden”.   I don’t think they ever spoke again.

And so.  I have absolutely no idea what will survive an English winter….

Next year I shall aim for a bit of class?   White and green, with a touch of indigo??

Seeya.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to O.T.T.

  1. Pussycat44 says:

    It looks gorgeous F2. I’m hoping some of my plants will survive the dry and cold winter.

  2. colonialist says:

    Who needs a garden with that tablecloth around? Not that you don’t have lots of colour in that, too.
    Had your mother invited that editor home for a nice cup of tea and rat-poison, it would have been justifiable homicide.

  3. Gunta says:

    Amazing gardening here. I can’t seem to get that many things to grow, though gradually I’m learning there are some tried and true that seem to struggle on through. I envy you that explosion of color.

    • footsy2 says:

      Even a tiny garden requires a lot of work – as I am discovering 🙂

    • footsy2 says:

      Dear Gunta – I didn’t mean that! With what amounts to beach sand, gardening must be hell LOL!

      • Gunta says:

        It’s not the sand, it’s the kayaking and such that gets in the way. I live far enough inland that I don’t get sand. What I have instead is clay ‘soil’ (if you can call it that) that’s mucky in the winter when it rains and turns to concrete in the dry summer. No amount of amendments seems to change it. Probably because the heavy rains in winter washes all but the clay away. Some folks manage it, but gardening has never really been my thing. I very much appreciate the efforts of other folks like you, though. 😀 I just get by with an occasional volunteer that pops up around here. That wandflower I just posted seems to be an exception. I actually bought it at a nursery and so far it seems downright happy and quite lovely. It even seems quite happy when it doesn’t get watered regularly- like when I go kayaking for days at a time during the worst heat of the summer.

      • footsy2 says:

        Yup. It’s all in the soil. Have spent more money on compost, improving the soil than I have on plants. But hoping there will be long term benefits. If I had somewhere to go kayaking I probably wouldn’t bother 🙂

  4. cocoaupnorth says:

    Wow! what a transformation. Your garden is stunning and inviting.

  5. Sonel says:

    It looks fabulous Footsy! You really did a great job there and I so love all the bright colours. White and green with a touch of indigo sounds gorgeous. 😀

  6. footsy2 says:

    White and green plus indigo sounds gorgeous, but I will never be able to restrain myself from adding every possible colour under the sun 🙂

Leave a Reply

