Summer fun

Saturday is market day in most English towns and villages. Ours is no exception. It always buzzes even when the weather is inclement. Today was extra colourful. Always carry the mini camera in the depths of my bag and couldn’t resist.

Morris dancers 1Morris dancers2morris dancers3Morris dancers5Morris dancers6morris dancers7

These dudes are all Morris Dances who leap up and down, shaking sticks and rattling bells.

morris dancers4

Not sure who the blue and green guys are.   Something to do with trees? They look a bit sinister.

Must google my heritage.

Seeya.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Summer fun

  1. colonialist says:

    A group of Morris Dancers invited participation a few years ago and I volunteered. I still wonder why all the family suddenly disowned me? I thought I was doing rather well.

  2. Gunta says:

    Utterly bizarre and wonderful. I’d never heard of Morris dancers.

  3. cocoaupnorth says:

    Oh, the joys of summer:-)

  4. Arkenaten says:

    I am getting so lax with my visits to other blogs. Head space seems to be all over the place at the moment.
    Every time I see any reference to Morris Dancers these days it reminds me of Terry Pratchett who wrote about them on a number of occasions in his novels.
    Where are you staying at the moment? I forgot.

  5. Tish Farrell says:

    I don’t know if one of my posts will help your demystification of the English Morris dancing habit. It starts off with the Sweeps Festival in Rochester, but there’s a bit about Morris Dancing and how lots of folk idioms are being mixed up together: http://tishfarrell.com/2014/06/07/unexpected-with-bells-sticks-and-hankies-at-the-sweeps-festival/

  6. Great photos, footsy! I love the eccentricities of the English village people. We were fortunate to happen upon Morris dancers in action a few years ago in Slinfold near Horsham. 🙂

Leave a Reply

