Bugs: Ark’s challenge

Having read Ark’s post I rushed into the garden, camera in hand, determined to find a bug of some description. Not a sausage.
We have slugs, bees and butterflies, to say nothing of the rats – but bugs are in short supply. I couldn’t even find an aphid, which is all excellent news, I guess.

I do however have a few bug (?) pics on file.

black & white thingie

I did look this one up, but have forgotten it’s name.  It is more yellow and black than white and black – whatever, bug or not  – it’s the best I can do.

And whilst we are on the subject of bugs….

red bug

This is my favourite bug.   He is a Red Cardinal beetle.  He did leave a huge hole in the lily when it finally opened, but I forgive him.

So, has anyone out there got a prettier red bug?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bugs: Ark’s challenge

  1. colonialist says:

    Striking bugs. I wonder if the red one is in line for Pope?

  2. Sad to say, I don’t have any favourite bugs. Your red one does look rather special though. 🙂

  3. Ruth2Day says:

    I’m with AD, the red bug is really good

  4. libraschild says:

    there is no way i am going to intentionally look for bugs… what you need is a SA swimming pool. used to love fishing ladybirds out of them, but not those christmas beetles!

  5. Arkenaten says:

    I might have a Red One one. Or at least reddish… let me scour my files!
    Your black and yellow bug looks like a species of migrant hover fly, possibly Eupeodes Corolla. But not 100% sure.

  6. libraschild says:

    where you gone footsy? no posts lately?

  7. footsy2 says:

    I’ll try to post more often (It’s good to have you back :-)) I’ve seen the odd ladybird but not had my camera handy.

Leave a Reply

