Conundrum

I posted this pic on Face Book.
DSCF8727

What a song and dance.   It’s Hoppy, the wood pigeon.  He is not feral.   He is thoroughbred.   And a gentleman.   And, incidentally, he is challenged.  (Note his gammy foot).

I have, in truth, become fond of him.   He has become a resident.   As I potter, I no longer notice him, until he is literally under my nose – then he takes flight and scare the xxxx out of me.  Okay, so he is becoming a little too familiar.   Hopping into the conservatory and reminding me to feed, is probably a hop too far.

My FB friends are horrified.   I must not feed pigeons.   But when you have more than twenty different species of birds visiting the restaurant, what should you do?

I have asked if a sign on the bird table reading “NO PIGEONS” will work.   We are now into a debate about discrimination.

As for the rats – that’s another story 🙂

Seeya.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Conundrum

  1. Sonel says:

    Awwww, he is gorgeous Footsy! Such a cutie too and I can see he is a real gentleman. 🙂

    Oh yeah, the FB friends. Always with such good intentions. It’s the same here with the Vervet monkeys. ‘Oh, you must not feed them…blah blah..’ Who cares?

    I do think a sign that says ‘No rats’ won’t be seen as discriminating. Unless it’s Splinter. The Ninja Turtles might be offended. 😆

    Keep feeding Hoppy, the gentleman and give him my regards. Also, thanks for caring about them. We have a Bulbul family that lives in our garden and Mr Bulbul can also complain very loudly if there are no seeds in feeder.

    • footsy2 says:

      Problem is Hoppy has become so overweight, one of these days he won’t be able to fly :-).

      • Sonel says:

        Whahahahah! Well, then you will have to give him a house nearby. I think he will like that. LOL!

        You made me think of the landlord’s cat – Doc. I have him on a diet now because he became way too fat. Even the rats and mice laughs when they see him.

  2. Arkenaten says:

    Oddly enough we d not get feral pigeons here. We have the red eyed, manic looking Rock Pigeon.
    Hoppy looks cool to me.

  3. colonialist says:

    I’m not too charmed with those creatures at the moment. They are chasing away the mannikins, weavers and mossies and guzzling themselves silly at our feeding station. The flutter of wings when one walks that way sounds like a major hurricane coming up.

  4. Gunta says:

    I see pigeons as the pigs of the bird family. They can eat one out of seed in no time. We used to put a lot of seed out for the smaller birds and then the pigeons started showing up and they’d empty the feeder in minutes. We finally shifted to smaller feeders that would swing under their weight and they’d have a hard time hanging on. That slowed them down.

  5. libraschild says:

    to be fair wood pigeons are not the same as feral ones. so i can say feed him. maybe when he gets too familiar lunch on HIM? (I’m quite partial to pigeon!) oops did that sound terrible?

  6. Ruth2Day says:

    poor old chap. He looks as if you are feeding him well 🙂

Leave a Reply

