Brutus Saga

You may remember I posted about the rat customers who visit the bird restaurant? I paid attention to your various suggestions. The Col’s suggestion was probably the answer. A steel trap and peanut butter.

TL and I have a problem. Neither of us can actually kill anything (This, despite the fact that he was a licensed big game hunter, way back when! Thinking about, it’s probably the reason why.

We have been side stepping the issue. When I head off shopping, he says casually, “Pick up a rat trap”. “Sure” say I, then return empty handed, saying “Couldn’t find one”. I consider the killing of creatures to be his business.   But I say nothing – and he has done nothing.

close up

Meanwhile, I’ve been getting some great close ups.

And then we had a braai.   Invited our neighbour (who is also our landlady).

Angela and Hilda

It was a blast until Brutus decided to make his presence felt.

tree rat

Landlady was not amused.

She has insurance against rats.   (She has insurance against everything, me thinks).

We have been plagued by rat catchers, who have laid their traps everywhere. To no avail.   They return weekly to remove dead rats.   So far, they haven’t got one!

TL and I are merely interested observers :-).

Seeya.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Brutus Saga

  1. Pussycat44 says:

    Brutus actually looks cute sitting there feeding his face! Joburg seems to be infested with rats the size of cats especially in areas where there are lots of residential complexes. We have them here in the Village, too, but the garden service puts rat traps out, successfully.

    • footsy2 says:

      I know there were rats in the garden when I lived in Parkwood but they never seemed to bother us in any way. Only when the cat decided to ‘gift’ me with a half dead rat, when I was in bed! I hid under the duvet and screamed until ‘someone’ removed it 🙂

  2. I’m sure Brutus will meet his end eventually. We once had a Doberman called Brutus. I’m sure he kept the rats away. 😀

  3. Gunta says:

    Brutus looks like something from a Disney cartoon. Good luck with the removal now that you’re not involved anymore. At least you’ll have pics to remember him by. O_o

  4. colonialist says:

    Really a cute-looking little rascal. Trouble is, if the catchers don’t succeed soon the next generation and the one after that will join him. Bet the catchers are to mean to leave the bread-and-peanut-butter bait. Our rats found it irresistible, and the whole lot went to heaven happy.

    • footsy2 says:

      It seems like the catchers have been successful. No sign of him during the last week. Your comment reminded me. I grew up in a lovely old house in Rosebank (JHB) – ‘someone’ left the lid off a tin of Illovo golden syrup. In the morning was one sunken mouse, drowned in syrup. Not a bad way to go, I guess…..

  5. Sonel says:

    Seems you need insurance against rat catchers now Footsy! 😆 Great shots of Brutus too. I think he enjoys all the attention. I can see the braai was a success. 😀

    I also had one living in the house and wasn’t very pleased about it, and just like you and your hubby we also didn’t want to kill it, but we also didn’t want them and their babies living here, so hubby took some wild bird seed and peanutbutter, rolled in little balls – but here’s the trick – leave the snacks but don’t set the trap and do that for 2 days. Then place the snacks again and then set the trap. Worked like a charm, but I was sad to see it dead. 😦 Luckily they now know to stay outside. There’s one in the compost heap and it stays there. Now it’s up to the landlord’s cat whether it will stay alive. 😀

  6. Ruth2Day says:

    I wonder if you have been sabotaging the traps! Must say I am like you, can’t kill anything

  7. Tish Farrell says:

    He’s a very handsome rat, almost looks like a domesticated one. An escapee maybe?

  8. cocoaupnorth says:

    I hope you find courage to relieve Brutus of his duties. As cute as he is, he could drive your home insurance premiums high.

Leave a Reply

