Bucket list bonanza

I’m not wildly interested in sport, generally. When SA won the world rugby in God knows when – I got so freaked in the final moments I had to remove myself from the TV and sit alone on the banks of the Limpopo river, gazing across into Botswana – we were bundu bashing at the time. I watch Wimbledon. I can, on occasion, watch the golf. TL is a huge fan, so there isn’t much choice.

What does float my boat are the televised equestrian sports. Show jumping and eventing – cross country.

Man, with adrenaline racing, breath held, I measure the pace, lift the horse, taste the sweat, feel the leather in my hands and live the moment – every second of it.

So a couple of weekends ago, when the opportunity presented itself to attend one of the premium equestrian events in the world, it blew my mind.

(I once had a riding instructor who had participated at Burghley – we worshiped the very ground he walked on :-).)

And of course, I took my camera.

Burghley.

Burghley house

Dress code.

DSCF9032

Essential accessory: dog

avid spectatorrain proof

Beverage (Pimms at £6 for a thimble full).

Pimms

And the horses

DSCF9025up

Can’t compete with these cameras

big camera

whoops

I learned something.   Can’t throw your heart in with the horse and the rider and live every second when, with eye to camera, waiting for the right moment, the camera becomes a barrier.

Being an ‘observer’ is not nearly so much fun.

None the less – it was magic.

Seeya.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Bucket list bonanza

  1. libraschild says:

    is this cross country horses or just people running through mud? is always best to just experience and hope someone else has the fancy camera

  2. Pussycat44 says:

    Whenever I watch show jumping I call out: jump, jump or up, up to will the horse over. Thank goodness I live alone 😉

  3. colonialist says:

    What a super opportunity! You are right, though. Spectating is never quite the thrill of being part of that team of horse and person. Recall, though, the sheer exhaustion that sets in after a full Event with all three disciplines.

  4. Arkenaten says:

    I think I made my point on Facebook. 🙂

  5. Gunta says:

    Lovely, but yes, you do miss stuff with the camera up at your eye.

  6. Tish Farrell says:

    A great day out, Footsy. But while I’m here, I must say I love your header.

  7. Sorry I missed this post whilst in SA. I also love watching show jumping, and although I’ve never ridden a horse, I can imagine the feeling of sitting high up there with the horse obedient to my commands.

  8. cocoaupnorth says:

    A super cool day at the horses:-). And yes enjoying the show and trying to take that perfect shot at the same time, can be a mission.

Leave a Reply

