An Evil Weevil.

The only weevils I have come across in the past have been those little brown numbers that turned up from time to time in the porridge at boarding school.   If we dared complain we were told they were an excellent source of protein and to ‘zip it’.

The red palm weevil is a different kettle of fish.   The wretch is causing havoc and doing in palm trees all over the globe.  The Spanish authorities are very tense on the subject, understandably.  So much so that if you are found harboring said weevil a fine of Euros 500 is summarily issued and, if feasible, deportation would probably follow immediately.

TL, missing his gym class, offered to chop down a half dead palm tree at the villa – and came across the culprit.   Ugly little s**t he is too.

Is there anyone out there who knows more than I do about weevils?   Is it eyeless, as in blind?  Or are those eyes on the end of it’s feelers?

Having photographed it from every angle  I suggested to TL that he now kill it.  Reluctantly agreeing with me, TL wandered off, stroking and crooning to it.

I haven’t dared ask if he carried out the execution or not.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to An Evil Weevil.

  1. Tish Farrell says:

    Evil weevil, indeed.

  2. colonialist says:

    Apparently your little friend has excellent eyesight – not sure where the eyes are, though.
    You should have let it lay eggs, then waited until they became grubs and munched them. Apparently these white wiggly creatures are regarded as a delicacy by some people, eaten alive or cooked.

  3. Eeek!! I shudder at the mere mention of a weevil after buying a box of weevil infested cereal in Johannesburg, decades ago. To this day, I always check to see that there’s no sign of movement when I open a new packet. This red jobbie looks particularly evil. 😦

  4. Ruth2Day says:

    oh my goodness what an odd little thing. my only weevil experience is with the flour and pasta I’m sometimes had at home. Hubster does the deed!

  5. cocoaupnorth says:

    Wow they must be wrecking havoc, 500 euros fine is a lot.

  6. Gunta says:

    What a creepy, ugly looking thing. I think I’d panic if I ever found a thing like that. Was that your hand holding it? Yuck!!

  7. gipsika says:

    Footsy!! Found you! (Or rather, you found me!)

    I have to agree, it’s a creepy looking little weirdo. The colours are quite vivid though, aren’t they? So these little bug(ger)s eat palm trees? Wow! Bit like the termites we’ve got here…

Leave a Reply

